What is the MSWCC ?

The Midland and South Western Counties Convention the Beekeepers is composed of the beekeeping associations of Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Gwent, Herefordshire, South Staffordshire & District, Swansea & District and Worcestershire.  Briefly, the aim is to preserve the health and well-being of honeybees and to encourage interest and progress in the craft through education.

These associations take it in turn to host a conference.  This year Swansea & District Beekeepers’ Society is hosting the 88th conference at the King Arthur Hotel, Reynoldston, Gower, on the 14th, 15th and 16th October 2016.

We would like to extend a warm welcome to all beekeepers, and to those with an interest in beekeeping, and hope that our programme of events, lecturers and workshops will provide an interesting forum for debate and discussion on our ancient craft.

Come and enjoy three days of lectures, workshops and demonstrations for all beekeepers, novice to experienced.  Join us for the whole conference or come as a day visitor as best suits you.


The Midland & South Western Counties Convention of Beekeepers is undoubtedly the longest-running annual gathering of beekeepers in Britain.

It has its origins in the principles for organised beekeeping set out in 1873 that led to the formation of the British Bee Keepers’ Association.

There is evidence of co-operation between neighbouring County activists as early as 1879, when representatives of Warwickshire and Gloucestershire met at the Grand Hotel, Birmingham, and resolved ‘that a bee-keepers’ association be formed with the two-fold object of advocating a more humane and intelligent treatment of the honey-bee, and of bettering the condition of the cottagers of the United Kingdom by the encouragement, improvement, and advancement of bee-culture, and that the association be called “The Midland Counties’ Bee-keepers’ Association”’

Today the MSWCC includes the counties of Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Gwent, Herefordshire, Leicestershire & Rutland, Northamptonshire, South Staffordshire, Swansea & District and Worcestershire.